COVID19: Croatia, Austria demoted to red

2 mins read

Two more EU states dropped into Cyprus’ high-risk red zone under the latest COVID travel risk assessment, while the island’s safest green category remains unchanged, with just nine countries listed.

EU members Croatia and Austria fell from the orange category to the red.

Another EU state Denmark along with the United Arab Emirates were upgraded from red to orange.

After the island’s latest update of its safe travel list, four EU countries remain in the top green category.

The majority of EU countries are in the red, which requires double testing.

There are 15 countries in the orange category where a negative test is needed before departure to Cyprus.

Cyprus is coming out of the fourth wave of coronavirus, where record infection rates reached four digits in July, powered by the more contagious Delta variant.

Health authorities have contained a cases spike to the low hundreds from a peak of 1152 daily infections in mid-July, mainly thanks to its high vaccination rate, with 79.8% of the adult population receiving a COVID-19 jab.

The travel changes come into effect on Thursday, 16 September.

Under the colour-coded system, there is no mandatory quarantine for tourists entering Cyprus from the EU.

Cyprus also keeps its doors open to fully vaccinated tourists to boost arrivals that plunged 84.1% last year regardless of their country of origin.

Tourists allowed unconditional entry must have a COVID-19 vaccine approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA) — Pfizer/BioNTech, AstraZeneca, Moderna or Janssen.

Russia’s SputnikV and China’s Sinopharm are also accepted vaccines by Cyprus.

Regardless of category, unvaccinated tourists staying for more than a week must get tested on the seventh day of their vacation.


Under the COVID assessment scheme, low-risk countries currently classified in the green category are:

  • European Union: 1) Hungary, 2) Poland, 3) Slovakia, 4) Czech Republic
  • Third Countries: 1) Australia, 2) Jordan, 3) New Zealand, 4) Saudi Arabia, 5) Singapore


Orange countries are those of higher risk than green.

Passengers must have undergone a PCR laboratory test within 72 hours before departure and have a certificate proving they tested negative for the virus.

  • European Union: 1) Denmark, 2) Greece, 3) Italy, 4) Latvia, 5) Luxembourg, 6) Malta, 7) Romania, 8) Finland
  • Small States: 1) Andorra, 2) Vatican City State
  • Third Countries: 1) United Arab Emirates, 2) Qatar, 3) China (including Hong Kong, Macau), 4) Kuwait, 5) Bahrain


This category includes countries of higher risk than orange.

Passengers coming from red category countries are required: a) to prove a negative PCR test carried out under 72 hours before departure, and b) undergo another PCR test upon arrival in Cyprus. The cost of the test is charged to the individual.

  • European Union: 1) Austria, 2) Belgium, 3) Bulgaria, 4) France, 5) Germany, 6) Estonia, 7) Ireland, 8) Spain, 9) Croatia, 10) Lithuania, 11) the Netherlands, 12) Portugal, 13) Slovenia, 14) Sweden
  • Small States: Monaco, San Marino
  • Schengen Area Members: Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway
  • Third Countries: Azerbaijan, Egypt, Albania, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, United States of America, United Kingdom, Japan, Israel, Canada, Belarus, Lebanon, Moldova, Brunei, South Korea, Ukraine, Russia, Serbia


Arrivals are allowed entry after acquiring special permission, only if they are Cypriot citizens or entitled to enter, such as people with a work permit.

Passengers must undergo a coronavirus test under 72 hours before their trip and have a certificate they tested negative for Covid-19.

Grey category passengers must remain in self-isolation for 14 days or seven if they choose to carry out another coronavirus PCR test with a negative result on the seventh day.