News
Cyprus & World News

1077 polling stations will operate for European Elections for Cyprus voters

07 May, 2014

A total of 1077 polling stations will operate in the upcoming elections, according to an announcement of the Chief Returning Officer who also announced the voting hours of the election centres abroad.

According to the announcement, in the Nicosia constituency 407 polling stations will operate, 54 in Famagusta, 170 in Larnaca, 298 in Limassol and in Paphos 129. The polling centers abroad will be 19.
Turkish Cypriot voters residing in the occupied areas of Nicosia, Famagusta, Kyrenia and Larnaca districts may exercise their right to vote in any of the special polling centers which will be located in Kato Pyrgos, Astromeritis, Agios Dometios, Ledra Palace, Faneromeni, Livadia and Acheritou.

Turkish Cypriot voters residing in the government-controlled areas, as well as Community voters, have been allocated to election centers on the basis of their registration address in the electoral roll.
The enclaved constituents (Greek Cypriots residing in Cyprus' northern Turkish occupied areas) of Kyrenia and Famagusta district will exercise their right to vote at the Agios Dometios High School, Center D’, and Acheritou Elementary School, Center C’, respectively.

The Chief Returning Officer has set the voting hours of the election centers abroad as follows: For Greece 7.00 a.m. – 6.00 p.m. with a break between 12 noon – 1.00 p.m, in Belgium 8.00 a.m. – 5.00 p.m. with a break between 12 noon – 1.00 p.m and for United Kingdom 8.00 a.m. – 4.00 p.m. with a break between 12 noon – 12.30 p.m. (local time).